Make font size smaller Make font size default Make font size larger


Observatory Application and Research Center

First movement in order to establish the Ege University Observatory was initiated by Prof. Dr. Abdullah Kızılırmak in 1963.

The observatory building was established in 1965. On 30 - 31 May 1965 the first telescope was constructed and the first observation was made on June 22, 1965. 



Directors of Observatory 


Prof. Dr. Abdullah Kızılırmak (1968-1977)

Prof. Dr. Raymond H. Wilson (1977-1980)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ömür Gülmen (1980-1981)

Prof. Dr. Sezai Hazer (1981-1984)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ömür Gülmen (1984-1985)

Prof. Dr. İlhami Yavuz (1985-1994)

Prof. Dr. Şükrü Bozkurt (1994-1996)

Prof. Dr. Serdar Evren (1996-2009)

Prof. Dr. Zeynel Tunca (2009-2012)

Prof. Dr. Nadide Kazancı (2012 - 2013)

Prof. Dr. Kadri Yakut (2013 - 2016)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hasan Ali DAL (2016 - 2019)